Honest Abe

There’s really only one word I can come up with whenever I think about the Lincoln Memorial: Majestic.  I have seen no picture that does this place justice.  The building in general, the massive marble columns, and statue of Lincoln…it was all just larger than life.  The statue, I believe, weighs somewhere around 160 tons and had to be shipped in almost 30 separate pieces.  I went in the early morning before many people were out and about and couldn’t help notice the calm and tranquil feeling I had after walking up the front steps and setting foot inside that first row of columns.  I know if I lived in D.C. and wanted a place to go and relax and just ponder about life…this would be the place.

They don’t allow tripods in the memorial unless you have a permit.  I came away with a few good shots, but next time I’m going to look into getting one.  Their excuse is that the tripod legs are messing up the floor…I had considered bring a towel to even further increase the cushy-ness and space between my tripods rubber feet and the memorial floor and make a case that way, but decided against it in the end.  There’s another good shot I have, but the file’s too large to post anywhere…and when I convert it to a JPG, it does something funky with the color of the sunlight reflecting off the marble columns.  Hopefully I can figure out a way around that so I can eventually get that up online.

  • Camera: Nikon D90
  • Lens: Nikon 18-55mm
  • Focal Length: 38mm
  • ISO: 200
  • Bracketing: None
  • White Balance: Auto
  • Shutter: 1/40s
  • Aperture: f/6
  • Handheld

Leave a Reply

