Nassau – Pt. II

Dad, Eric and I walked down to the beach a little while after lunch. We passed a few large tents housing the wares of all the different vendors…including some guys who excelled in the art of woodworking…

Vending and Haggling

Wooden Scorpion

When we made it to the beach, we weren’t too impressed. I figured Nassau would have done an overall better job at being more clean/tourist friendly…seeing as how tourism is the number one source of income for the city. However, I’m thinking most of those funds are allocated towards Paradise Island. The ‘sand’ wasn’t really sand…more of a fine gravel…with bits and pieces of glass bottles strewn throughout.

We were just to the left of the pier below until about 20-25 local kids decided to have a diving contest all around us. So, we ended up walking another 5 or 10 minutes further down the beach and snorkeling for the next couple of hours; saw lots of Lion Fish and a couple of lobsters.

His attempts to breathe through this stick (reed/bamboo piece?) were unsuccessful

Hog Island Lighthouse (c. 1817)

On our way to find a less crowded spot, I had noticed one particularly interesting subject…I wish I had gotten a better photo of him, but at the time I was still shy about the whole ‘people’ photography thing. This man sat in this position for the better part of three hours…I never saw him move.

By the time we decided to head back for dinner, there was one more kid that we’d shared the beach with…well, one more kid plus a dog…

Right before leaving the main beach strip, we stopped by this little hut and got smoothies…strawberry banana or banana mango, I believe…

Pick Your Co-Co-Nut

The last few characters we met before reaching the ship were the best and I really like how the photos turned out. This first one is of Samson; a 63 year old Bahamian man who, I guess, now makes a living selling conch shells out of a grocery cart. We bought two; one for me and one for my brother. Samson shook my hand and nearly crushed it…not on purpose, of course. A life’s worth of hard labor was felt with that handshake and a life’s worth of hard labor just seemed to be etched into his face. I sometimes find myself wondering how he’s doing…

Nassau Streets – Saxophonists (played for at least 4 hours straight)

Nassau Streets – Landscape Painter

After eating dinner, I ran back outside to try and get a couple more shots before the sun went down. Here’s what I got…I know the ship looks a bit dirty…but it’s mainly because of the reflections/shadows from the water…

The Monarch – Docked at Dusk

Snapper

Leave a Reply

