Chicago – 8/7/12

As their website states, the State Higher Education Executive Officers (SHEEO) is a non-profit, nationwide association of the chief executive officers serving statewide coordinating boards and governing boards of post-secondary education. As CFO for the Board of Governors, my dad oversees the budget and facilities responsibilities of the State University System and personnel and administrative functions of the Board of Governors’ General Office and serves as the Chancellor’s fiscal liaison with the Legislature. What happens when you put these two together? Family trips to some of the best cities around the country!

Last year, SHEEO took us all to San Francisco. This year’s city of choice? Chicago!  It’s been a little over 15 years since my parents and I first took a trip there during a holiday weekend. When I found out back in February that I’d be going, I was ecstatic. And now, after what’s been too long of a hiatus, I have a really good reason to be back on WordPress.

We left Tallahassee around 5am and drove to Jacksonville to catch our flight to Chicago; after an hour layover in Charlotte. It was there where we had brunch – I had a breakfast burrito, dad had some fruit and yogurt, and Kaisha had some water.

Sidenote: The S100 I picked up a couple of months ago has really come in handy; I couldn’t be happier with it. It’s what I used exclusively the first and third day of the trip and, I must say, it’s nice to have something a bit more compact to shoot with. And, yes, I probably abused the ‘Toy Camera’ preset mode.

After brunch, we were off, and flying into Chicago about two and half hours later…

After catching a cab to our hotel, the Westin on N. Michigan, we took care of one of the most important To-Do’s on our list while in Chicago….PIZZA!!!!

Giordano’s Stuffed Chicago Classic – Cheese, Sauce, Pepperoni, Mushrooms, Onions and Green Peppers

Did I mention that the Westin we were at was next to the Hancock Center?

After lunch, Kaisha and I took the rest of the day to quickly see a few of the sights while my dad went to his first meeting. As well as being across the street from the Hancock, the Westin sits catty-corner to the Fourth Presbyterian Church of Chicago. The original church was formed in 1871, but after constructing a second church building that was destroyed by the Great Chicago Fire, what we see today could be considered part three, I suppose. Built in 1912, it’s the second oldest structure along the Mag Mile after the Chicago Water Tower.

We then made our way down to Navy Pier…

There was a stained glass art gallery happening that had some wonderful pieces…this is King Solomon…

After grabbing some ice cream we headed up along Riverwalk and past Centennial Fountain…

Lastly, we went to Millennium Park…grabbed one of Pritzker Pavilion before heading back to the hotel…saved some of The Bean for the next day…

Leave a Reply

