Moondog

Last night my assignment took me to The Red Onion. I knew I’d be photographing a music show of some sort, but wasn’t entirely sure what kind. I happened to catch Moondog, a guitar and bass duo (John Stephens and Jon Rhoads, respectively) that performs every first and third Wednesday of the month at The Red Onion.

I’d pin these two mostly as a cover band, but I heard they do some originals every now and then. Among the artists covered last night were Jack Johnson, The Eagles and, per my request, Johnny Cash.

With John Stephens on guitar and Jon Rhoads on bass, Moondog performs on the first and third Wednesday of every month for diners at The Red Onion restaurant in Gainesville, Fla.

John and Jon were super nice and did a great job. I’d like to get back to The Red Onion and spend a bit more time listening to them, perhaps while eating rather than photographing.

Leave a Reply

