Childish Gambino & Hoodie Allen

It was about two weeks ago when I found out that Childish Gambino (Donald Glover) was coming to perform in Gainesville. Anyone that knows me well enough will tell you how big of a fan I am of this modern-day genius – an actor, writer, comedian and musician.

It was about 3 years when I first saw the NBC comedy series Community and instantly fell in love with not only the show, but Donald Glover’s character, Troy Barnes. Glover seems to be one of the few people who can truly break through that fourth wall of acting/entertainment and connect with an audience, whether it be through the television or one of his concerts.

Needless to say, when I walked into the office of The Alligator and saw ‘Childish Gambino’ written up on the assignment board, I nearly lost my mind. I really lost it when I was asked if I wanted to shoot it. I had tickets to see Gambino perform in Atlanta back in April, but wasn’t able to make it. He also broke his foot around that time and had to reschedule the performance, so it wasn’t too terribly inconvenient.

Now I was getting to see him for free AND shoot it for the paper! Crazy how some things work out, huh?

There were a couple guys up before Childish…

This first one is of Twilight Zone – he was just doing a bit of mixing on the turntables before Hoodie Allen opened the show.

It saddens me that I had never heard of Hoodie before this show, because he was awesome. One of the more energetic performers I had seen in a while. Trying to keep up with him on stage with my camera was a workout.

Hoodie did an excellent job of getting everyone riled up for Childish. I had never seen a crowd bounce so much before. But it was nothing compared to the insanity that ensued when Gambino took the stage…

Now, I had just purchased a D600 and 24-70mm f/2.8 for this concert – thinking that we’d have the typical first three songs to hang out in the pit and take photographs. We were allowed down front for all of Hoodie’s show…but security asked us to leave for Childish. So, I had to use my 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 in the middle of a crazy crowd…after spending what I did on the D600 and 24-70, I couldn’t stomach the idea of spending more for a 70-200 at the time. But I wish I had.

I was shooting on my D90 with the 18-200…ISO pretty much maxed out and still having to shoot at about 1/30-1/40s because the aperture took a dive down to f/5.6 when zoomed all the way in. So, that’s why these ended up rather grainy.

CG performing ‘Bonfire’ for nearly 5,000 fans in Gainesville on Friday.

CG ending the night with ‘Lights Turned On’

Leave a Reply

