(Almost) A Year In Brief Review

It’s been hard to believe how quickly my first couple of semesters at UF have come and gone.

As a photographer, looking back at who I was in August seems a bit unreal and almost comical. I can’t seem to put into words how much growth I feel I’ve experienced and how much progress I seem to have made in the last eight months.

I had no idea what to expect regarding my photography as I entered my first week of classes last fall. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t scared. I had been tired of trying to find my place again in school, and there was a slight reservation that it was all another bad idea; that I’d end up just wasting more time and money to end up in a spot no better than where I stood. However, I am glad to announce that is not the case.

I was able to start shooting for The Alligator and basically ended up becoming their sports guy, and I had fun getting to shoot a couple of concerts and speakers at the university as well. Classes went well and I actually looked forward to starting the next set. I’ve met some great people and mentors who I hope to stay in touch with for as long as I’m allowed. I’ve gotten to work with some of Sports Illustrated’s most respected photographers and have managed to keep in touch with them; I’ve been trusted with the opportunity to shoot a big story for ESPN (and I hope it’s not my last); I was also able to cover the Gatornationals drag races a couple of months ago, and to say I had an amazing time would be an understatement.

For the first time in the last three years that I’ve been actively pursuing more knowledge of this craft, I can finally say I feel as if I’ve become better — whether it’s by a lot or a little, it’s something.

And, well, I am currently looking to pick up a D3 and 400mm if I get picked up to shoot UF football for Yahoo! Sports/Rivals.com. So, if that isn’t a sign of some progress, I’m not sure what is.

Leave a Reply

